Lady Lions Softball headlines 2016 postseason awards

Lady Lions Softball headlines 2016 postseason awards

Sat, May 7, 2016 - [Softball]

Matt Barker, Sports Information Director

ST LOUIS, Mo. - The Freed-Hardeman Lady Lion softball team headlined the 2016 AMC All-Conference awards Friday at the conclusion of the AMC Conference Tournament Championship game as three players were chosen for post-season honors.

Lady Lion sophomore Caitlyn Carter took home Player of the Year honors while also being selected for the First-Team All Conference squad. Carter finished the 2016 season hitting an impressive .503 while compiling 84 hits and 31 RBI's.

Makenzie Prince also represented FHU well as she was named the Newcomer of the Year following an impressive season in the circle, where she picked up 12 wins and compiled 139 strikeouts while maintaining a 2.51 ERA. Prince was also selected, along with Carter, for the AMC First-Team All Conference squad.

Senior Katie Sholl was also recognized for her contributions throughout the season as she was named to the Second-Team All Conference squad. Sholl hit an impressive .346 on the season and compiled 46 hits in 133 plate appearances while being a leader on and off the field for the Lady Lions.

2015-16 American Midwest Conference Softball All-Conference Team 

Player of the Year: Caitlyn Carter, Freed-Hardeman University
Pitcher of the Year: Taylor Winn, Lindenwood University-Belleville
Newcomer of the Year: Makenzie Prince, Freed-Hardeman University
Freshman of the Year: Molly Carter, Columbia College
Coach of the Year: Steve Tingler, Park University
First-Team All-Conference

Madison Skelton, CBC
Molly Carter, CC
Carly Spalding, CC
Paxton Welch, CC
Caitlyn Carter, FHU
Makenzie Prince, FHU
Gabby Akright, HLGU
Nicolle Miskowicz, LU-B
Emily Ray, LU-B
Taylor Winn, LU-B
Stephanie Haft, Lyon
Savannah Graham, Lyon
Payton Anderson, MBU
Andrea Chessor, MBU
Mallory Land, Park
Allie Reynolds, Park
Britanee Willard, Park
Sydnae Hatton, WWU
Brailee Schulte, WWU
Callie Brooks, WBC

Second-Team All-Conference

Joella Bayles, CBC
Lauren Sweeten, CBC
Rachel Sullivan, CC
Katie Sholl, FHU
Jordyn Alford, HLGU
Shelby Miller, HLGU
Paige Kuefler, LU-B
Stephanie Bagwell, Lyon
Yumiko Hiroto, Lyon
Nicole Sanders, Lyon
Ashten Welch, Lyon
Amanda Williams, MBU
Brooke Kunkel, Park
Katie Heaton, SC
Allison Dewald, STLCOP
Tayler Evans, STLCOP
Hillary Hentges, WWU
Brooke Mason, WBC
Madelyn Poe, WBC
Rylee Rogers, WBC